favorite
favorite
hide
unhide
flag

Posted

print

$895 / 1br - Bright Garden-Facing Room in Shared House Ditmas (Brooklyn)

Bright Garden-Facing Room in Shared House Ditmas 1 thumbnailBright Garden-Facing Room in Shared House Ditmas 2 thumbnailBright Garden-Facing Room in Shared House Ditmas 3 thumbnailBright Garden-Facing Room in Shared House Ditmas 4 thumbnailBright Garden-Facing Room in Shared House Ditmas 5 thumbnailBright Garden-Facing Room in Shared House Ditmas 6 thumbnail
1BR / 1Ba
rent period: monthly
Hello and thank you for your interest in joining our shared house!
Rent is $895 with a security deposit of $895. The available unfurnished room is on the third floor of a shared house (8 people total). The room is roughly 84 sq ft and has incredible natural light and two windows overlooking our shared garden. It is available July 1. There are 5 steps up the porch to the front door and a back door entrance through the shared kitchen.
Costs, in addition to rent, split evenly among roommates are:
- Utilities/gas/water/internet/energy/basic household supplies etc. are around $250 per month per person
- Repairs for community-used things/spaces as needed if not covered by the landlords.
You'll share a huge house with antique charm, a spacious kitchen, a living room with large windows, grand piano, and a huge private backyard with flower/vegetable garden. Our home is near public transportation, a laundromat, grocery stores, restaurants, coffee/bars and more. There are two full bathrooms, one with a bathtub and shower on the third floor and one with a shower on the second floor. These are shared by all of us. Floors are accessible by stairs. We have two fridges in the kitchen, which, shared among the eight of us, means fridge space can be limited.
This third floor room for rent comes unfurnished (except the large brown shelves). The room is around 84 square feet, has hard-wood, tiger-oak floors, has two large windows getting great light during the day, and comes with a window air conditioning unit.
The neighborhood and more info:
- A couple blocks from the Q train Cortelyou/Beverly stops and also close to the express buses (~30 minutes into NYC Union Square)
- We’re about a mile to Prospect Park and the F/G trains.
- There is a lovely communal living room with a (slightly out of tune) grand piano and working fireplace.
- The large backyard has a vegetable garden, a bonfire pit, picnic table and a propane grill.
- There is a lovely wraparound front porch.
- No smoking indoors.
- No dogs or cats.
- This neighborhood has top notch food, coffee, and bars: Cafe Madeline, Cafe Tibet, Ayat, Purple Yam, Qattra, and more
- Grocery stores: Cortelyou Market (Cortelyou btw E. 17th & 18th), Flatbush Food Coop (Cortelyou at Marlborough), Natural Frontier Market (Cortelyou near Westminster)
- Sunday Farmer’s Market (Greenmarket): Cortelyou between Argyle and Rugby on Sundays 8am-4pm.
- Laundromat: Self service or drop off, is located half a block away at E. 17th St and Cortelyou.
You’ll live with seven other roommates. We are mostly artists and professionals who enjoy each other's company and respect privacy. Socialize or not, absolutely no pressure. Shared spaces are friendly and congenial.
- We have busy schedules and the house does not feel crowded — most work during the day.
- We share house cleaning responsibilities and expect that everyone clean up after themselves in common areas.
- You are welcome to use dishes and pots/pan in the house, all roommates share, just please wash them in a timely manner, etc.
- We expect that roommates treat this house as a shared living space and be mindful and considerate of others.
We are looking for someone long-term.
If you're interested, please email us with a bit about yourself, including if you’re looking for a long-term stay. Also, please confirm July 1st works as a move-in date. We would respond by email to coordinate viewings and interviews.
We will check references if you’re considered for the space.
Please feel free to ask any questions. Thanks!

post id: 7757509628

posted:

best of [?]

loading
reading
writing
saving
searching